The Old House is a remarkably well preserved example of a 17th Century timber-framed building and is situated in the heart of Hereford, surrounded by the commercial centre of the city. It is a startling sight, standing as the sole reminder of times-gone-by in the middle of a modern shopping precinct.
Built in 1621, the house has been used for many purposes over the years, starting life as a butcher's home and shop and finishing its commercial life in the hands of Lloyds Bank in the late 1920s. Since 1929 it has been a fascinating museum giving an insight into daily life in Jacobean times. It is furnished in period style with an internationally important collection of English Oak furniture and there are interesting pieces in every room. Of particular interest to many visitors are the rare wall-paintings, the four-poster bed and the baby-walkers.